Foundation Stage


The Foundation Stage covers two years of education in Nursery and Reception.

It seeks to provide a secure foundation; quality and consistency; partnership working and equality of opportunities.

There are 7 areas of learning:

Three Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Four specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Each area of learning is implemented through planned, purposeful play and a mix of adult led and child initiated activities.

Each Early Years learning environment is organised into different provision areas:

  • Writing
  • Book
  • Role Play
  • Music
  • Maths
  • ICT
  • Sand and water
  • Construction
  • Small World
  • Workshop
  • Painting
  • Malleable Play
  • Outdoor

Within these areas there are:

  • Focused activities: Differentiated activities led by a Teacher or TA to teach and assess learning
  • Independent activities: Children independently revisit previously led activities
  • Enhanced activities: ecial activities linked to the current theme
Throughout the Foundation Stage there is a move towards more adult led learning in preparation for more formal learning sessions in Year 1 and beyond.